Scotch Whisky Regions


There are five primary Scotch whisky production regions:  Campbeltown, Highland, Islay, Lowland, and Speyside.  The Island region(all islands but Islay) is a sub-region of the Highland region which is somewhat unfortunate because some fantastic scotchs come from these islands and I believe it should become a region by themselves. 

Campbeltown:  These whiskies are very distinctive, with a briny character.  Of the few malts produced here there are subtleties between the smokiness of each specific malt. 

Highland:  These whiskies are generally have  a rounded, firm, dry character, with some peatiness.  From the extreme heathery, spicy character of far North malts to the fruity whiskies of the “Southern” Highlands.

Islay:  These whiskies generally deep with peat, seaweedy, iodine-like, phenolic in character.  Very “tangy” and unique are Islay pronounced “eye-luh” malts.

Lowland:  These whiskies are generally have a softness to the malt itself because this region is untempered by Highland peatiness or coastal brine and seaweed of the Islay malts.

Speyside:   These whiskies are generally elegant and complex, and often have a refined smokiness.  This being said their are tow extremes to their varieties.  On one hand you have the big, sherryish type and on the other you have the lighter, more subtle style.

Island:  Though this is not yet its own region these whiskies all have a unique character.  Essentially the flavors of these malts are as if you mixed a Highland and an Islay whisky.


Published in: on December 17, 2007 at 6:49 am  Leave a Comment